lazy sunday at Lisson…

finaly the weather forecast is up to our hopes: dry, sunny, but with around 28 degrees Centigrade (82 Fahrenheit) no longer the canicule we had last week and which stressens the plants and makes every work in the vines a mere nightmare, and no new thunderstorms anounced for the next days – our grapes will be able to ripen slowly but surely, like this beautiful Mourvedre behind the house

mourvedre 19 july 09

mourvedre 19 july 09

So I took a lazy sunday off, to bouquine – which means to sit confortably in the shade of our wild vine pergola and read some of the books stocked in a pile for months or weeks and waiting for a closer look and comment. For this sunday, I choose three of them, all written by women – in different manners all about wine, two French, one American.

I had a look at all three, when they arrived (thanks to Amazon and Co, who made my valley less lonely), but I wanted to go through them pencil in hand, keep more than a “first glance, first sniff” impression, to see, whether there is some mouth-feeling, some longueur en bouche – whether they tell me something about the author behind the book which goes au del of the jacket blurb…

bouquiner

bouquiner is not simply to read...

One is about “The battle for love and wine”, the other one about “Les femmes et l’amour du vin” and the third a socio-ethnographic research about the market of excellence “Les grands crus a l’epreuve de la mondialisation” – so it will be funny, to find out, whether after savoring each separately, there will be a book-pairing possible in the end:-).

To start my tasting, I took the one, which arrived already before Christmas in my letter-box – as one of the presents, I gave to myself, sticking to the French saying: On n’est jamais aussi bien servi que par soi meme (for my French readers: wordpress doesn’t take any accents…, sorry!).

A good choice to stay awake in my cosy corner in the shade:-)! suivre…

3 thoughts on “lazy sunday at Lisson…

  1. Hello Iris,
    Till now, I haven’t answered your friendly and nice comment on my blog. Thank you for writing this! This summer we were in Olargues and it was love at first sight! We walked through the old village and dreamed about buying a house and live in the South of France. Then we crossed the river and saw “Fleurs of Olargues”. We drank something and made a reservation for the evening dinner. And it was perfect: the view, the food, the wine. We had a lovely day.
    In the afternoon we visited “Un air de Campagne” which was a nice place to be. I loved the blue/white plates, the honey and so on…
    We were on a sunday in Olargues. The wednesday after I came back to visit that shop again, to buy some things for my friends and family at home. But what a pity, the shop was closed. At the door there was a paper telling me that!
    Maybe next year we’ll come again. At one of your pictures of the shop you can see the saucer, which I bought there! I didn’t ask allowance to take photo’s in the shop, I didn’t dare. So I was happy I found your web-log with pictures, so I could tell my friends at home!

    Bye bye Iris,
    Mienke (Balsemien) from the Netherlands

  2. Pingback: busy month of August « diary of a german winemaker from the South of France

  3. This article is actually the best on this deserving topic. I agree with your conclusions and will hungrily look forward to your coming updates. Saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the fantastic lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Fabulous work and best of luck in your writing!

Leave a Reply

